Sometimes, the changes you make to your hosting have unforeseen consequences. That’s why you should always make backups of your hosting before making major changes. However, even if you forget to backup your content regularly, we save backups for you regularly that are available for two weeks, so you can restore your hosting to a point before the changes were made. To roll back to a previous date, follow these steps:
- Log into your Hosting cPanel.
- Click on File Backups under the Jetbackup section.
- Find the date you want to restore and click the link that says File Manager.
- Check the box next to the files you want to restore.
- Click Restore Selected.
- Verify you would like to restore these files by clicking the checkbox and then clicking Add to restore queue. (Please note: All old information created after the backup restore point will be permanently lost after completing this action.
- The restoration will be added to the sidebar, where you can track the progress. Once the restoration is complete, you will see the status change to complete, with a checkmark.
If you use a site builder like WordPress, you will also want to restore the database. To do so:
- Go back to the main cPanel page.
- Click on Database Backups under the Jetbackup section.
- Find the date you want to restore and click the blue text that states Restore.
- Verify you would like to restore this backup, then click Add to Restore Queue.
- Your database backup will be added to the queue. You can check the status by going to the main cPanel page, and clicking Queue under the Jetbackup section.
Note: The single best thing you can do before making a big change to your site is to download a backup first. That way you have it if you forget to renew, something happens to your hosting, or you want to restore to a date more than two weeks in the past.